26-05-2019 -Piksel Pavilion

From 16:00 to 18:00 the music pavilion in Bergen will be known as the Piksel Pavilion, flooding the entire city center in light and sound. Always updated on the latest and greatest in electronics, the pavilion will play host to the music of Agnes Pe along with the stunning visuals of Aleksandar Brandic, two Piksel artists doing high impact performances guaranteed to make you want to explore the entire Piksel Festival program this year. 

Once the showcase is over, at 20:00 hours, we invite you to join us at the Exhibition Opening Night at Piksel Studio 207, located at Strandgaten 207 and 208, just a comfortable walk away from the Piksel Pavilion. This is where more than 40 international artists will be showcasing their installations, videos and Pikselsavers.

Satiate your need to move with friday and saturday night concerts at Østre. Interactive dance, electronic performances, opti-sonic intervention, extreme computer music, noise and psychoacoustic effects await you from 21:00 to 24:00. A DJ, still yet to be confirmed, will be keeping the dancefloor warm and cosy until the end of the night.

Friday afternoon, Hossein Derakhshan will be giving a lecture about how the challenge for journalism in the years to come is to reinvent itself around something other than news, whilst resisting the seduction of propaganda and entertainment. Hossein Derakhshan is currently a research associate at the MIT Media Lab. His writings have appeared in The New York Times, The Guardian, MIT Technology Review, Wired, Libération, Die Zeit, and Corriere Della Sera.

The workshop program will be running from Thursday to Saturday at Piksel Studio207, and on Saturday morning Piksel artists will be presenting their projects at Østre.

List of artists:
Noish (ES), Sandra and Gaspard Bébié-Valérian (FR), Aad Björkro (SE), Aleksandar Bradic (US), Gabin Cortez Chance (US), Osvaldo Cibils (UR), Cached Collective (FR/PT), Hossein Derakhshan (CA), Iodine Dynamics (FR), Adam Fish , Sarah Friend (DE) , Susi Disorder(ES), Jukka Hautamäki (FI), Cy Edgar Keener (USA), Søren Krag (FI), Marc Lee (SW), Zack Lee (US), Justin Lincoln (US), Oscar Martin (ES), Michael Mastrototaro (AT), Nick Montfort (US), Gabriela Munguía (AR), Martin Nadal (ES), Juan Antonio Nieto (ES), Pablo Palacio (ES), Ivan Andre Paulsen (NO), Jana Jan (ES), Agnes Pe (ES), Alexandre Torres Porres (BR), Tivon Rice, Ninja Riot (UK/NZ), Gregoire Rousseau (FR), Gabriel Caniglia (US), Ozge Samanci (US), Matt Spendlove (UK), Jeff Thompson (US), Garen Jerire Torikian (US), Alex van Giersbergen (FI), Andreas Zingerle (AT), Arkadiy Kukarkin , Muriel Romero (ES), Marloes van Son (FI), Davide Bevilacqua (IT), Linda Kronman (FI)

Piksel19 is supported by the Municipality of Bergen, Arts Council Norway, Hordaland County, Community of Madrid, Austrian Embassy, Acción Cultural Española, Inaem, Pro Helvetia and BEK.